Skip to main content
Saaser Hauswürste
Saaser Hauswürste

The secret of the Saaser Hauswurst (homemade sausage)

Homemade, dry-cured sausages are a specialty throughout the Valais Alps. But there is only one Saaser Hauswurst. And the recipe is top secret.

Throughout history, the Saas Valley has often been struck by poverty, and so here, more so than elsewhere, typical meat dishes like sausages were packed out with vegetables. So much so that some claim that it’s acceptable to consume Saaser Hauswürste on a Friday, traditionally a day of abstinence. It is, after all, a substantially meatless sausage.

Local legend has it that there was a once a man from the Saas Valley who always made his Hauswurst according to the same recipe, in the same size batch, to make exactly 100 sausages. When suddenly, a batch of his sausages produced only 99, he stopped to think about what he was missing. And it dawned on him: the meat.

There’s little certainty around exactly how much meat should be contained in a traditional Saaser Hauswurst. Only those who actually make them can know, and family recipes are closely guarded secrets. That said, basic ingredients are generally considered standard, like beef, pork, bacon, salt and various herbs and spices, potatoes, leeks, and beetroot. The latter gives the sausage its distinctive crimson color; made so, it’s said, to give it the look of a typical meat sausage.

No matter what they are made of, the Saaser Hauswürste are a real delicacy. Place thinly sliced on a piece of Valais rye bread, and let it melt in your mouth while you ponder its secrets.

Skip to main content
Saaser Hauswürste
Saaser Hauswürste

Le secret des Saaser Hauswürste

Il existe de nombreuses saucisses maison valaisannes séchées à l'air. Mais il n'y a qu'une seule Saaser Hauswurst. Et ce qui s'y trouve est top secret.

Comme la vallée de Saas a souvent été touchée par la pauvreté dans le passé, il a fallu garnir les saucisses avec des légumes ici plus qu'ailleurs. Des langues malveillantes prétendent qu'il est possible de manger du Saas Hauswürste même un vendredi, le jour de l'abstinence. Après tout, c'est une saucisse végétale sans viande.

La tradition suivante est également significative: un homme de Saas fabriquait toujours sa saucisse maison selon la même recette et en même quantité. Cela a toujours donné 100 saucisses. Lorsqu'il n'a plus pu faire que 99 saucisses, il s'est mis à réfléchir à ce qu'il aurait pu oublier. Après beaucoup de va-et-vient, il s'est soudain rendu compte de la différence: la viande.

La quantité de viande qu'il contient ou non dépend de vous. Ce qui entre dans une Saas Hauswurst n'est connu que de ceux qui la fabriquent. Les recettes de la famille sont gardées comme des secrets d'État et des secrets bancaires. Les ingrédients suivants sont plus ou moins garantis: bœuf, porc, lard, sel et épices diverses, pommes de terre, poireaux et betteraves. Ces dernières donnent à la saucisse sa couleur violette typique. Certaines rumeurs disent que c'est au moins l'impression qu'il s'agit d'une saucisse de viande.

Peu importe ce qu'elle contient: la Saas Hauswurst est un mets délicat. Coupé en fines tranches, avec un morceau de pain de seigle valaisan, vous pouvez laisser fondre la rondelle de saucisse dans votre bouche et, en même temps, fantasmer sur sa composition.