Skip to main content
Contact

How can we help you?

If you have any questions or would like to make a booking directly please call:

Tel. +41 27 958 18 58

How can we help you?
Or use our contact form:
   
loading

You can also send us an email :

support@saas-fee.ch

 

Opening hours tourist office :

Find here all the opening hours of the tourist offices

Order now our brochures ! 

  • Saas-Fee
  • Saas-Grund
  • Saas-Almagell
  • Saas-Balen
Arrival
Departure

George Michaels last Christmas 26 december 2016

Saas-Fee, 26 December 2016. One of the greatest musicians of the 1980s has died –  the media announced this morning that George Michael died on 25 December 2016 due to heart failure.

The news has greatly shocked and saddened Saas-Fee. It is with great sadness that we in Saas-Fee learned of the sudden death of former pop superstar George Michael. According to the first media reports, he passed away peacefully on Sunday 25 December. On Christmas Day, the very day that provided the inspiration for one of his greatest hits, “Last Christmas”.

Our thoughts are with George Michael’s family, friends and fans. He will always be remembered through his music.

Connection to Saas-Fee

In 1984, the duo group Wham! (George Michael and Andrew Ridgeley) released the Christmas song “Last Christmas”. The song’s video, which uses flashbacks to tell a love story set in the snowy Alps, was shot in Saas-Fee.

The song was sold 1.4 million times in England alone. It didn’t make it right to the top of the charts because the project Band Aid’s song “Do they know it’s Christmas?” was released at the same time and stayed at number one for several weeks. This makes “Last Christmas” the biggest-selling single in the United Kingdom that never made it to number one.

In the United Kingdom, Australia, Germany and Italy the single went platinum, and in Denmark and Greece gold, but the song never reached the very top of the charts in any of these countries either.

George Michael, singer, songwriter, composer and music producer

George Michael was born Georgios Kyriakos Panagiotou on 25 June 1963 in London as the son of a Greek-Cypriot restaurateur and an English dancer.  He founded the duo Wham! in 1981. During his career, the singer, composer, songwriter and music producer sold more than 100 million records and won two Grammy Awards. His greatest hits include “Careless Whisper”, “Wake me up before you go-go” and “Last Christmas” (all released in 1984).

Monika Kessler

Contact

Saastal Marketing AG, Monika Kessler, PR
monika.kessler@saas-fee.ch  
+41 27 958 18 77

Images

Images on request

Skip to main content
Kontakt

Wie können wir Ihnen helfen?

Fragen zu einer Buchung oder direkt per Telefon buchen:

Tel. +41 27 958 18 58 

Wie können wir Ihnen helfen?
Oder nutzen Sie unser Kontaktformular:
   
loading

Sie können uns auch eine Anfrage per E-Mail senden:

info@saas-fee.ch

 

Öffnungszeiten Tourismusbüro

Hier finden Sie die Öffnungszeiten der Tourismusbüros


Jetzt Prospekte bestellen!

 

 

  • Saas-Fee
  • Saas-Grund
  • Saas-Almagell
  • Saas-Balen

George Michaels letzte Weihnacht 26. Dezember 2016

Saas-Fee, 26.12.2016. Einer der grössten Musiker der 1980er Jahre ist tot: George Michael sei am 25. Dezember 2016 an Herzversagen gestorben, heisst es heute Morgen in den Medien.

Mit grosser Betroffenheit nehmen in Saas-Fee Kenntnis vom überraschenden Ableben des einstigen Musik-Giganten George Michael. Gemäss ersten Medienberichten sei er am Sonntag, 25. Dezember friedlich entschlafen. Ausgerechnet an Weihnachten, dem Tag, der ihm dank «Last Christmas» einen seiner grössten Hits überhaupt bescherte.

Unsere Gedanken sind bei der Familie, Freunden und Fans von George Michael. Er wird durch seine Musik unvergessen bleiben.

Verbundenheit zu Saas-Fee

1984 veröffentlichte das Duo Wham! (George Michael und Andrew Ridgeley) den Weihnachtssong «Last Christmas». Das Video, in welchem mit Rückblenden eine Liebesgeschichte in den verschneiten Alpen erzählt wird, wurde in Saas-Fee gedreht.

Alleine in England verkaufte sich der Song insgesamt 1,4 Millionen mal. Die oberste Chartplatzierung erreichte der Song aber nicht, weil gleichzeitig der Song «Do they know it’s Christmas?» vom Projekt Band Aid diese Position mehrere Wochen für sich beanspruchte. Damit ist «Last Christmas» das in Grossbritannien meistverkaufte Musikstück, welches nie die Charts anführte.

In Grossbritannien, Australien, Deutschland und Italien wurde die Single mit Platin ausgezeichnet, in Dänemark und Griechenland mit Gold. In keinem der Länder erreichte der Song je die Spitze der Charts.

George Michael, der Sänger, Songwriter, Komponist und Musikproduzent

George Michael ist am 25. Juni 1963 als Georgios Kyriakos Panagiotou in London als Sohn eines griechisch-zypriotischen Gastronomen und einer Britin geboren. Er Gründete 1981 das Duo Wham! Zu Lebzeiten verkaufte der Sänger, Komponist, Songwriter und Musikproduzent über 100 Millionen Tonträger und gewann zwei Grammy Awards. Zu seinen grössten Hits zählen «Careless Whisper», «Wake me up before you go-go» und «Last Christmas» (alle veröffentlicht 1984).


Monika Kessler

Kontakt

Saastal Marketing AG, Monika Kessler, PR
monika.kessler@saas-fee.ch  
+41 27 958 18 77

Bildmaterial

Bildmaterial auf Anfrage